Q39 – My New Favorite BBQ Joint

2015/01/img_0316.jpg

Today, Travis and I decided to try a new bbq place called Q39 in Westport and it was delicious! It just might take the cake for being my favorite bbq in Kansas City. Here’s what I thought about some of the different aspects of the restaurant:

Meat

The barbecued meat is the most important thing at any bbq place, and it was spot on! I normally get a brisket sandwich at bbq places, so I got the Pitmaster Brisket Sandwich. It had beef brisket, provolone cheese, onion straws, and bbq sauce on a toasted bun (very comparable to my other favorite KC bbq sandwich, Joe’s KC’s Z-man).

2015/01/img_0318.jpg

The brisket was really juicy and tender. The onion straws gave it a perfect crunch, and the bun held up really well. Travis got the Judge’s Platter, one of their award winning competition plates. It had spare ribs, brisket, and pulled pork. His favorite were the ribs, but he also really liked the brisket. I snagged a bite of his pulled pork (I’m not normally a huge pulled pork fan because I feel like it can get really fatty and chewy) and it was some if the better pulled pork I have had. Very juicy.

2015/01/img_0319.jpg

Sauce

Sauce is huge in KC bbq, but theirs wasn’t my favorite. The flavor was great, but I prefer thick sauce that has a smoky sweet flavor, and theirs was a little too thin for me. Definitely a vinegar based sauce. Luckily, the meat was so good, we hardly added any sauce to our meal!

Sides

I am a huge sides girl, love ’em! Travis got baked beans with his meal and they were really good. They had a sweetness about them. Travis also got cornbread with his meal, and he said it was the one thing that didn’t really fit on the plate (although I didn’t try it). I got a side of fries and I wasn’t overly impressed, but I also know that fries aren’t really a traditional bbq side. I normally get cole slaw and I’m upset that I didn’t try theirs today. Guess I’ll be going back soon!

Atmosphere

2015/01/img_0321.jpg

The atmosphere was a more formal one, there are servers, real plates and glassware, white cloth napkins. I prefer a more laid back atmosphere when it comes to bbq, brown paper napkins, seat yourself, wet wipes. The parking was great though! We found a spot pretty easily. And they had a great space for parties.

2015/01/img_0320.jpg

We sat at the bar tables, and they chairs were very uncomfortable, the chairs are probably my biggest complaint. However, our waiter did look like Harry Potter so that made up for it!

Price

Our meal was around $30. The sandwiches seemed to be around $9 and the platters were between $10-$15. The platters came with sides, but the sandwiches didn’t. There was a price difference between lunch and dinner. I thought it was a pretty good price, especially for the quality of food.

Overall, it’s the meat that makes a bbq place good and this place delivered! Can’t wait to go back!

It was such a nice January day outside today, so Travis and I decided to walk off some of our bbq greatness. I have really enjoyed the sunshine these past few weeks, please don’t go anywhere!

2015/01/img_0323.jpg

2015/01/img_0322.jpg

2015/01/img_0324.jpg

Leave a Reply

