Week Night Date Night

Now that volleyball season, cross country season, and fall parent teacher conferences are over, Travis and I have decided to have more week night date nights. There are a few reasons for this. First, things are normally cheaper during the week (movies, food specials, etc.) Second, it breaks the routine and keeps us more spontaneous and exciting. And third, places are just so packed on the weekends.

Last night, we saw Interstellar with Matthew McConaughey. Travis has been very excited about this movie and it lived up to the expectation. It was a fantastic thriller! Really made you think about a lot of different things. My only complaint – it’s long, really long, three hours long. DON’T get the large Icee like me.

I let Travis pick the dinner location and he picked Culver’s. Week night date nights don’t have to be a fancy and/or expensive place.

IMG_0123.JPG

IMG_0124.JPG

He’s the best! It might sound small, but a few things that helps us distinguish between a “date night” and a “I don’t want to cook so let’s go to Culver’s night” are 1) date nights are planned and 2) you dress up for date night. Since Travis and I had planned a date night, it gave us both something to look forward to during the day. Also, the first thing I do when I get home is change into my sweatpants, so putting on my nicer clothes makes the occasion feel more special. Regardless of how long a couple has been together, it’s important to try to look nice for each other.

I’m hoping to make week night date night a weekly occurrence! Any good ideas for fun things do to during the week?

Leave a Reply

