Homemade Dog Treats

I thought I would try making some homemade dog treats for Uno. Most of the ones on Pinterest involve weird ingredients that I don’t normally have at home. As I was watching the food network (Ree Drummond, my favorite) a commercial came on for some homemade dog treats and all the ingredients were normal! The only thing I had to buy was whole wheat flour, which I will still use in people food. Here’s the recipe:

2 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 cup old fashioned oats
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 cup chicken broth (I used a bouillon cube and a cup of hot water)
1 cup creamy peanut butter
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

Mix together the first three ingredients. Then mix in the broth and the peanut butter. This was really easy for me because the bouillon cube needs to dissolve in warm water, so it kinda melted the peanut butter. Last, mix in the cheese. It smells really gross. I gave Uno a bite of the batter to make sure he liked the flavor. He does!

20140427-200042.jpg

Spray the cookie sheet with cookie spray and bake at 375 degrees. Since I have a small dog, I made small treats. Uno also prefers soft dog treats, so he would rather have under baked instead of over baked. So, I baked mine for 10 minutes, but you might need 15-20 depending on the size and crunchiness of the treat.

I was out of Parmesan cheese. Luckily, we were having Italian night for Game of Thrones tonight, and our friends let us use their Parmesan cheese. We gave them some treats in return for their dog, Bentley.

I stored them in this cute container my sister-in-law made Uno for Christmas.

20140427-195724.jpg

Happy Game of Throning!

20140427-195847.jpg

(Missing Jayne – happy finals studying!)

Leave a Reply

