Snow Day Pasta

In honor of Travis and me both having a snow day tomorrow (from work and from graduate school) I thought I would share our yummy pasta dish we made for dinner tonight. It’s seriously the best for a cozy night in!

Penne and Smoked Sausage Bake

  • 2 cups uncooked penne pasta
  • 1 pound smoked sausage cut into 1/4-inch slices (I substituted chicken sausage, I also used closer to half pound, cut thinner than 1/4 inch)
  • 1-1/2 cups 2% milk (I used skim milk)
  • 1 can (10-3/4 ounces) condensed cream of celery soup
  • 1-1/2 cups cheddar french-fried onions,divided (I seriously didn’t know these came in cheddar flavored! New tradition for Thanksgiving green bean casserole?)
  • 1 cup (4 ounces) shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese, divided
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  1. Cook pasta according to package directions. Meanwhile, in a large skillet, brown sausage over medium heat for 5 minutes; drain. In a large bowl, combine milk and soup. Stir in 1/2 cup onions, 1/2 cup cheese, peas and sausage. Drain pasta; stir into sausage mixture.
  2. Transfer to a greased 13-in. x 9-in. baking dish. Cover and bake at 375° for 25-30 minutes or until bubbly. Sprinkle with remaining onions and cheese. Bake, uncovered, 3-5 minutes longer or until cheese is melted.

20140203-203812.jpg

Do you like our smiley face spoon? I’m not very good at taking pictures as I’m cooking, primarily because if it turns out gross I don’t want pictures of gross food on my phone. However, you can see how much we ate of it meaning it must have been pretty tasty 🙂

Enjoy the snow tomorrow! How many snow days do you think we’re going to get? 1, 2, maybe 3, possibly 4? We can all dream right?

Leave a Reply

