A New Year!

2014 is here!! I have high hopes for this year and a lot I want to accomplish. I came up with a few different resolutions for the different aspects of my life.

1. At work,I would like to spend less time at my desk. I feel like I spend far too much time at the front of the room and would like to spent more time “in the mix”.

2. In my relationship, I would like to go on more weeknight dates. We get in ruts during the week, so it would be nice to be more unpredictable Monday-Thursday.

3. With my dog, I would like to take him on five walks a week. This one is good for me and him!

4. For my health, eat one more serving of vegetables a day. This will be a hard one. I think I’m going to start with trying green breakfast smoothies.

Last night, I was able to celebrate the New Year with my friends and family. I went over to my parents house to play a round of Smartass (a trivia board game) with my mom, dad, grandma, and family friend Betty. Then I went over to my friend Emily’s house to hang out with some friends and play The Game of Things (a game that involves players guessing answers that other players wrote down). We snacked all evening and counted down the night in great company.

I made a few dips to bring over to Emily’s so I’ll include my recipe to my favorite one. It’s a cheddar and bacon ranch dip.

Ingredients
1 package cream cheese
1 small container sour cream
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
1 packet ranch mix
8 strips of bacon, cooked very crispy and chopped finely ( you could also use the salad topping bacon bits or dried beef)

Mix all ingredients and keep refrigerated until time to serve. I like it with wheat thins, Travis likes it with scoops, I’m sure it would be great with anything (bread, vegetables, chips, crackers). I lightened it up a bit by using low fat cream cheese and low fat sour cream.

20140101-161041.jpg

Travis and I are snacking on it today as we watch the bowl games and put our Christmas tree away. The leftover wine ain’t bad either!

20140101-161058.jpg

Uno wishes he has some too. Doesn’t he look classy in his jacket?

Happy 2014! Any good resolutions out there?

Leave a Reply

