4th of July!

The 4th of July is one of my favorite holidays because you typically get to spend all day outside and with family! The weather was so beautiful, I started out with a morning run and some people watching as the neighbors started preparing for the day. I also watched some Wimbledon (I’m a little obsessed with the major tennis tournaments)

 

Then, we did what we do every 4th of July morning, the Parkville Parade. 

Image

Family picture. Sorry your eyes are closed mom!

We normally sit outside the house of a family that my grandma and mom grew up with. The parade seemed a lot shorter this year than normal (no political floats!) but it was still a great time! We walk down to the carnival for a bit so my mom could get her hand dipped corn dog.

 

Then we came home and began prepping for our first holiday party at our new house! We made hotdogs and hamburgers (my hubby makes THE BEST hamburgers), baked beans, and hash brown casserole (1 bag frozen hash browns, 16 oz sour cream, 1 can cream of celery soup, 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese, 1 chopped onion, salt and pepper. Mix all ingredients in large casserole dish and bake for 45 minutes at 350 degrees). We also made sun tea! My parents brought yummy fried ice cream for dessert, my grandma brought a trees and seeds salad, and Travis’s parents brought some fresh fruit! 

 

After dinner, we played croquet out in the front yard, watched Uno run around and sleep, and chatted in the beautiful weather outside. Of course, no fourth of July is complete without fireworks!

Image

I will forever say that Parkville has the best firework shows! Such a great time sitting on the river with some cherry limeade. However this year, Parkville was CRAZY. I have never seen the lines so long and the parking lots so packed. It took use a while to get out of there and we used the back roads! Still worth it, love me some Parkville!

 

Happy 4th of July!

Leave a Reply

