Asian Night at the Paynes

Last night, I wanted to try some new for dinner, so I decided to try egg drop soup and baked fried rice. 

This soup was a big deal for me. I really like making soup for dinner, but I typically make the cream based soup which I know is really bad for you. So I wanted to try a soup that was more broth based, hints where I came up with Asian food night. 

 

Egg Drop Soup

Image

Ingredients

-1 large can (49.5 oz) chicken broth*

-1/4 tsp white sugar

-2 tbsp soy sauce

-3 tbsp cornstarch

-1/3 c cold water

-3 eggs

-2 tbsp cold water

*So, when I was making my shopping list, I misread this recipe and only got 1 of the regular sized cans of chicken broth. I thought it was strange that a full recipe for soup only needed one can of broth, but I went along with it anyway. When I realized I had the wrong amount, I just decided to use bouillon cubes. I could only find the beef bouillon cubes so I decided to have a part chicken part beef egg drop soup. The beef flavor was actually kind of good, but Travis later showed me that we did have chicken bouillon cubes as well.

 

First, bring broth to a boil. Combine white sugar, soy sauce, cornstarch, and 1/3 cup of cold water in a small bowl. Add soy sauce mixture to the broth and let boil for around a minute. Turn heat to low. Mix eggs and 2 tbsp of water together in a small bowl. Pour eggs into soup, constantly mixing with a fork. Mix more vigorously for smaller egg parts in soup and less vigorously for bigger eggs. It should take about 2 minutes for eggs to cook in soup. 

 

Baked Fried Rice

Image

ingredients

4 c. cold leftover brown rice

1 c. pineapple chunks (I used 1 can)

1 c. frozen edamame, thawed

1/2 c. cashew pieces

2 tbsp. vegetable oil

3 tbsp. soy sauce

1 tbsp. sriracha (more for spicier fried rice, less if you like it milder)

cooking spray

 

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Combine rice, pineapple, edamame, and cashews in a large bowl. In a small bowl, whisk together oil, soy sauce, and sriracha. Pour oil mixture over rice mixture and stir until well-combined.
  3. Spray a rimmed baking sheet with oil or cooking spray. Pour rice onto sheet in an even layer. Bake for 45-60 minutes, stirring about every 20 minutes, or until rice is dry and just beginning to get crispy. Serve with additional soy sauce and sriracha, if desired.

I did not use day old rice, but cooked it right before we made dinner. Therefore my rice was a little stickier. I would recommend to either cook the rice the day before or use leftover from a previous meal. However, I will be making this recipe again for lunch during the school year. Very easy meal to make ahead on Sunday night and reheat all week! I think I will add more vegetables to it in the future as well.

Image

 

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

