Sweet Tooth!

Here are two sweet recipes that I have made this week, one is a healthier option, one not so much. I’ll start with the less healthy one.

 

I have fond memories of making monkey bread with my mom while watching The Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. So when I saw a recipe for cream cheese monkey bread, I couldn’t help myself!

Image

Cream Cheese Monkey Bread

Ingredients:

-2 cans refrigerated biscuits (not the super flaky ones, just the regular)

-8 oz block cream cheese (I typically don’t buy full fat cream cheese anyone because I can’t really taste a difference once it gets baked into something, but for this recipe, I went all out and got the real stuff)

-2/3 cup brown sugar

-2/3 cup white sugar

-1 tablespoon cinnamon

-3/4 cup butter, melted

 

Preheat oven to 350 and spray a bundt pan with cooking spray. Cut the cream cheese into the number of biscuits you have in your two containers (for example, both of my biscuit containers had 8 biscuits, so I cut the cream cheese into 16 pieces. Some biscuits have 10, so you might need 20 pieces). 

Place a piece of cream cheese on one of the biscuits. Wrap the biscuit around the sides of the cream cheese to where only the top of the cream cheese is showing. Repeat with first biscuit container. Place prepared biscuits (all of your first container) in the bottom of your bundt pan, cream cheese up. I should really start taking pictures as I go.

Now, mix the sugars and cinnamon together and pour half of this mixture over the biscuits. Next, pour half of the melted butter over the cinnamon sugar mixture. 

Next, repeat the biscuit-cream cheese process, only this time, place the biscuits cream cheese side down over the top of the first biscuits. Essentially you have two biscuits and two pieces of cream cheese that will bake into one big cream cheese monkey bread piece. 

Pour remaining cinnamon sugar mixture and butter over top. Bake for 40 minutes. Eat while warm 🙂

We kept ours in the fridge for 3 days and it microwaved excellently!

 

And now for the healthier option for a sweet tooth. This one is super easy too!

Diet Cupcakes

-1 boxed cake (your choice, I used white)

-1 can diet soda (your choice, I used diet Pepsi)

Mix cake and soda. Bake using box directions. DONE. I made mine into cupcakes. 

Image

 

I think these were even easier to make than normal cupcakes because you don’t have to crack any eggs or measure oil! I topped mine with leftover frosting, but I read that some people will use light cool whip and fruit as a topping. You can mix and match any cake or soda you want, I just used what I had on hand. Combos that I think sound good: white cake/diet orange Crush, strawberry cake/diet Sprite, chocolate cake/diet cherry Coke. So many possibilities!

I will warn you, these do taste slightly different. However, I gave Travis one without telling him what was in it, and he ate it with no issue and didn’t notice any big change. When you know there is diet Pepsi in them, you can taste it a little more. 

 

Here’s to satisfying your sweet tooth!

 

Leave a Reply

