Strawberry Tip

I try to only go shopping once a week, which means I get all our fresh fruits and vegetables in hopes they will still be good in a week. The food that has giving me the most problems is strawberries. Now, I love strawberries and could easily eat the entire bag the day I buy them. However (and especially for school) I like to make them last the whole week so I can enjoy some strawberry-goodness everyday! But most strawberries only last tops 4 days before getting all mushy and nasty. 

 

I saw this tip on Pinterest to keep strawberries fresh longer, so I thought I would give it a try. It said to mix 1 part vinegar (I used white wine) and 10 parts water (I’m going to let you do this math on your own. What kind of teacher would I be if I told you all the answers!) and let you strawberries soak in this mixture for a minute or two, then rinse with water. Ta-da! Your strawberries should keep for up to two weeks!

 

Image

I put my strawberries and the mixture in a gallon size bag, drained the vinegar mixture, put some water in the bag to rinse off the strawberries, drained again, and stored the strawberries in this bag. Don’t worry, the vinegar mixture is diluted enough that it doesn’t affect the taste of the strawberries (pending you did your math correctly).

 

4 days after purchasing the strawberries, when they normally start going bad, I made a delightful fruit salad for breakfast!

Image

Mix 5-6 cut strawberries, 1/2 a cut apple, a drizzle of honey, and a handful of granola

A week and a half after purchasing the strawberries, I made a yummy yogurt parfait for breakfast. The strawberries where just as fresh as the day I bought them!

Image

I used 1 container of blueberry greek yogurt, 5-6 cut strawberries, and a shake of granola. I’m also a parfait stirrer!

 

This tip is supposed to work for all berries, so I tried it this morning with blackberries. Fingers crossed! At least I can keep my strawberries good all week!

Leave a Reply

