Snack Time!

My in-laws came in town for the week, so I wanted to try a couple different snacks for us to have throughout the week. I made one savory snack and one sweet snack! Both are incredible, both will be made again. Neither of them are overly healthy, but neither of them are the most unhealthy, so I consider this a win! Also, both are very easy and relatively cheap. 

 

Ranch Crackers

-1 box saltine crackers

-1 1/4 cup vegetable oil

-1 ranch packet

-2-3 tsp red pepper flake

 

Mix all ingredients in a large mixing bowl. You will want to mix for a solid 5 minutes to make sure the crackers get an even coat of the ranch and pepper flakes. Put crackers in a large baking dish (I used our 11×14 glass baking dish). Bake at 300 degrees for 14 minutes, stirring halfway through the process. Let cool and store in an air tight container.

Image

I’m sure you could modify this recipe to use whatever spices you have/like. I could see this being good with onion powder, garlic powder, seasoned salt, and worchestire sauce. I also think this may be my new chili topping when the fall hits! 

 

Cinnamon Sugar Pretzels 

-I bag pretzels (16 oz)

-1 cup vegetable oil

-1 cup sugar

-1 tsp cinnamon

 

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl (this one mixes a little easier than the last). Pour on a flat baking sheet. Bake at 300 degrees for 30 minutes, stirring every ten minutes (this step is very important! The cinnamon-sugar mixture falls through the pretzels, so you need to really scrap the bottom to get the tasty cinnamon-sugar clusters). Let cool and store in an bag (I saved the pretzel bag). 

Image

This is one of the tastiest things I have made in a while. I was really afraid Travis and I would eat the entire batch before the Payne’s even showed up! The funny thing is the blog that I found this recipe on described this as a “Christmas Time Treat”. Trust me-this is an anytime treat! I will be making this year around!

 

Of course, Uno was helping me every step of the way!

Image

And by “help”, I mean eat pretzels when I drop them on the floor. 

 

Both of these snacks are great for in-law visits, graduation parties, games, or Tuesday. Happy snacking!

Leave a Reply

