Healthy Yogurt and Not so Healthy Black Bean Tacos

Let me preface this with saying this is NOT a health food blog. Travis and I are definitely not the most healthy cooks ever. But, we are trying to get in better shape because we know its good for us. So, whenever I share a recipe, I will always try to share a healthier one every time I share a not so healthy one. 

 

I have been trying to incorporate more healthy foods in my regular diet, one of them being greek yogurt. I really don’t like the flavor of greek yogurt, so I have been trying different things to make it more tolerable. This one is by far the best. I saw this recipe on pinterest and they called it “cookie dough yogurt”. This most definitely did not taste like cookie dough, but it is really tasty. 

 

-1 container of greek yogurt (I like yoplait 100 calorie)

-1 tbsp peanut butter (I like natural creamy skippy)

-1 tbsp honey

-1/4 tsp vanilla (since I used the vanilla flavored yogurt, I added just a splash. You may want to add a little bit more if you use a plain flavored yogurt)

Image

 

Mix all ingredients together very well. I stirred for a good 2 minutes. The pinterest recipe called for chocolate chips, but I didn’t have any. Maybe that would make it taste more like cookie dough. 

 

And now for the not so healthy black bean tacos. Don’t confuse this for something healthy just because it has black beans in it and is vegetarian. It’s not.

 

-2 cups black beans

-1 tsp cumin

-1 tsp paprika

-1 tsp onion powder

-6 oz pepper jack cheese, grated

-Olive oil

-8-12 corn tortillas

Place the contents of the black beans cans into a microwave safe bowl. Microwave for 3 minutes.  Add cumin, paprika, and onion powder to the black beans and mash lightly.

In a large non-stick skillet at a few tablespoons of oil over medium high heat.

You must work quickly for the next part. Add one corn tortilla, then scoop 1/4 of the black bean filling to half the tortilla and a healthy pinch of cheese. Using a spatula, fold the tortilla over to form a shell. Push down until the tortilla holds its shape.

Repeat that process. Depending on the size of your skillet, you can fit 3-4 tacos in one batch.

Cook on each side for 2-3 minutes or until golden brown. Gently flip the tacos! The fall apart easily.

Image

We served our tacos with salsa. To make this dinner a tad bit healthier, Travis made us a delicious green bean side dish with him mama’s recipe. For the men out there, if you refuse to eat a meal without meat, my husband (who is very much so a carnivore) has repeatedly asked me to make this recipe. If you must have meat, I would add shredded chicken to the black bean mixture, but it honestly doesn’t need it.

 

Make these recipes for a loved one and enjoy! Eating and cooking should be fun! Sometimes I forget that, just ask Travis. I’m a grouchy chef every once in a while. Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

